Rotimi Akeredolu Of The APC Wins Ondo Governorship Election

The candidate of the All Progressives CongressRotimi Akeredolu has been declared the winner of the Ondo State governorship election conducted on November 26, 2016.

The announcement was made on November 27, 2016,  by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).
                      The three top contenders
                   Akeredolu casting his vote 
INEC’s Returning Officer, Prof. Ganiyu Ambali said that Mr. Akeredolu defeated two major opponents, Eyitayo Jegede of the People's Democratic Party (PDP) and Olusola Oke of the Alliance for Democracy (AD), to clinch the victory.

According to the election empire, after the collation of results from 18 local government areas in the state, Mr. Akeredolu scored 244, 842 votes in the election while Mr. Oke won 126, 889 votes and Mr. Jegede 150,380 votes.

Mr. Akeredolu, a lawyer by profession, is to take over the seat of power from Governor Olusegun Mimiko who has served two terms as governor of Ondo State.

APC won by 94,462.